27th High Performance Computing Symposium (HPC 2019)

April 29–May 2, 2019 | Tucson, AZ, USA

part of the SCS Spring Simulation Multi-Conference (SpringSim'19) in cooperation with ACM/SIGSIM

Call for Papers

Paper submission December 16, 2018 January 8, 2019
Notification of acceptance February 8, 2019
Camera-ready paper February 22, 2019


The HPC'2020 site is available here.

The 2019 Spring Simulation Multi-Conference will feature the 27th High Performance Computing Symposium (HPC 2019), devoted to the impact of high performance computing and communications on simulations.

Advances in novel and heterogeneous architectures, high-end computers, large data stores are ushering in a new era of high performance parallel and distributed simulations. Along with these new capabilities come new challenges in computing and system modeling. The goal of HPC 2019 is to encourage innovation in high performance computing and communication technologies and to promote synergistic advances in modeling methodologies and simulation. It will promote the exchange of ideas and information between universities, industry, supercomputing centers, and national laboratories about new developments in system modeling, high performance computing and communication, scientific computing as well as simulation.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • High performance computing issues in Big Data analytics
  • High performance/large scale application case studies
  • GPU for general purpose computations (GPGPU)
  • Accelerator and co-processor computing
  • Multicore and many-core computing
  • Exascale challenges
  • Power aware computing
  • Cloud, distributed, and grid computing
  • Asynchronous numerical methods and programming
  • Hybrid system modeling and simulation
  • Hybrid parallel or distributed algorithms
  • Large scale visualization and data management
  • Tools and environments for coupling parallel codes
  • Parallel algorithms and architectures
  • High performance software tools and techniques
  • Resilience at the simulation level
  • Reproducibility of application performance results


Contributed papers. Original, high-quality technical papers are solicited for review, possible presentation and subsequent publication in the conference proceedings. Papers are max 12 pages long with single column format (see author's kit). Papers must not have appeared before (or be pending) in a journal or conference with published proceedings, nor may they be under review or submitted to another forum during SpringSim’19 review process. All submissions will be peer reviewed and feedback will be provided. Authors of papers accepted at symposiums and their tracks are expected to attend the conference, present their work to their peers, transfer copyright, and pay a conference registration fee at the time their camera-ready paper is submitted. Papers registered and presented will be included in the conference proceedings, archived in the ACM Digital Library, and indexed in DBLP and SCOPUS. Submit a paper at this link.


With the sponsorship from Manning, there will be a raffle for five free copies of "Modern Fortran" e-book by Milan Curcic. There also will be 40% off discount code to be announced during the conference, good for any of their book in any format.


A paper will be chosen to receive the HPC 2019 Best Paper Award and to compete for the SpringSim'19 Best Paper Award, which will be recognized in an awards ceremony before a plenary lecture. The last year's award winners are listed at the HPC 2018 website.


General Chair Masha Sosonkina, Old Dominion University, USA
General Vice-Chair Dongyoon Lee, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA
Program Chair David Easterling, University of Dayton Research Institute, USA
Program Vice-Chair William Thacker, Winthrop University, USA
Publicity Chair Wirawan Purwanto, Old Dominion University, USA


Jack Dongarra University of Tennessee & Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Lois Curfman McInnes Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Lukáš Polok Apple, Inc., USA
Layne T. Watson Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA
Josef Weinbub TU Wien, Austria
Roman Wyrzykowski Czestochowa University of Technology, Poland


Maksudul AlamOak Ridge National Laboratory
Mario AntoniolettiEPCC, UK
Eric AubanelUniversity of New Brunswick, Canada
Siddharth BhargavNVIDIA
Brett BodeNational Center for Supercomputing Applications, USA
Joshua BoothFranklin and Marshall College
Bruno CarpentieriFree University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Laura CarringtonSan Diego Supercomputer Center, USA
Cheng ChangStony Brook University
Jing-Ru C. "Ruth" ChengU.S. Army Research and Development Center
Frédéric DesprezINRIA, France
Norbert EickerJülich Research Centre, Germany
Nahid EmadUniversity of Versailles, France
Samantha FoleyUniversity of Wisconsin-La Crosse, USA
Jing GongKTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Phillip HammondsNorthrop Grumman, USA
Christopher HarrisPawsey Supercomputing Centre, Australia
Gary HowellNorth Carolina State University, USA
Saurabh HukerikarOak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Michael KlemmIntel, USA
Piotr LuszczekUniversity of Tennessee, USA
Azamat MametjanovArgonne National Laboratory, USA
Gabriel MateescuVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA
Christian PerezINRIA, France
Thomas RauberUniversity of Bayreuth, Germany
Li ShiSnap Inc., USA
Hayk ShoukourianLeibniz Supercomputing Centre, Germany
Steve StevensonClemson University, USA
Alan StewartUniversitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
Vaibhav SundriyalOld Dominion University, USA
Massimo TorquatiUniversity of Pisa, Italy
Shun YaoGoogle, USA
Yaxiong ZhaoGoogle, USA