19th High Performance Computing Symposium
(HPC 2011)

part of the
SCS Spring Simulation Multiconference (SpringSim'11)
in cooperation with ACM/SIGSIM

The FINAL PROGRAM is now online!


Paper submission due: December 3, 2010
Notification of acceptance: January 12, 2011
Revised manuscript due: January 28, 2011
Symposium: April 3-7, 2011


The 2011 Spring Simulation Multiconference will feature the 19th High Performance Computing Symposium (HPC 2011), devoted to the impact of high performance computing and communications on computer simulations.

Advances in multicore and many-core architectures, networking, high end computers, large data stores, and middleware capabilities are ushering in a new era of high performance parallel and distributed simulations. Along with these new capabilities come new challenges in computing and system modeling. The goal of HPC 2011 is to encourage innovation in high performance computing and communication technologies and to promote synergistic advances in modeling methodologies and simulation. It will promote the exchange of ideas and information between universities, industry, and national laboratories about new developments in system modeling, high performance computing and communication, and scientific computing and simulation. Topics of interest include:

  • high performance/large scale application case studies,
  • GPU, multicore, and many-core analysis and applications,
  • power aware computing,
  • cloud, distributed, and grid computing,
  • asynchronous numerical methods and programming,
  • hybrid system modeling and simulation,
  • visualization and data management,
  • problem solving environments,
  • tools and environments for coupling parallel codes,
  • parallel algorithms and architectures,
  • high performance software tools,
  • resilience at the simulation level,
  • component technologies for high performance computing.


Prospective authors are invited to submit full papers (up to 8 pages, double column format) on topics related to the areas listed above. Submissions will be evaluated on relevance, technical quality, and exposition. Papers must not have appeared before (or be pending) in a journal or conference with published proceedings, nor may they be under review or submitted to another forum during the HPC 2011 review process. All accepted papers will be published in the proceedings as regular papers. Papers should be submitted electronically using the paper submission system.

Papers must use SCS format (formatting instructions).

At least one author of an accepted paper must register for the symposium and must present the paper at the symposium.


Proposals for tutorials, panels, and special sessions are welcome; submit such proposals to the general or program chairs by August 1, 2010.


The symposium proceedings will be published in hard copy and on CD-ROM through SCS and may be in the ACM Digital Library.


At least one paper from each symposium will be chosen for a Best Paper Award, which will be recognized in an awards ceremony before a plenary lecture.


General Chair: Layne T. Watson, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
General Vice-Chair:Gary Howell, North Carolina State University
Program Chair: William I. Thacker, Winthrop University
Program Vice-Chair:Steven Seidel, Michigan Technological University
Publicity Chair: Karl Rupp, TU Wien


David Bernholdt, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Tim Kelley, North Carolina State University
Andrew Lumsdaine, Indiana University
Adrian Sandu, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
Masha Sosonkina, Ames Laboratory, Iowa State University
Andreas Stathopoulos, College of William and Mary


Gabrielle Allen, Louisiana State University
Alex Aravind, University of Northern British Columbia, Canada
Eric Aubanel, University of New Brunswick
Brett Bode, Ames Laboratory
Ali Butt, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Haiyan Cheng, Willamette University
Nikos Christochoides, College of William and Mary
Jose C. Cunha, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Nahid Emad, Universite' de Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, France
Daniel Grosu, Wayne State University
Phil Hammonds, ManTech International Corporation
Tevfik Kosar, Louisiana State University
Manojkumar Krishnan, Pacific Northwest Laboratory
Fang Liu, Ames Laboratory
Edward Luke, Mississippi State University
Michael Mascagni, Florida State University
Gabriel Mateescu, University of Illinois
Lois Curfman McInnes, Argonne National Laboratory
Phil Merkey, Michigan Technological University
Joerg Meyer, University of California at Irvine
John Michalakes, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Jun Ni, University of Iowa
Suely Oliveira, University of Iowa
Rhonda Phillips, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Thomas Rauber, University of Bayreuth, Germany
Jill Reese, Mathworks
Cal Ribbens, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Gudula Rünger, Technical University of Chemnitz, Germany
Steve Seidel, Michigan Technological University
Alan Stewart, Queen's University, Belfast, UK
Amik St-Cyr, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Pak Chung Wong, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Qin Xin, Simula, Norway
Ping Yang, Pacific Northwest National Lab